Two From One

Being at a loose end after finishing my family quilt I felt I wanted to undertake a smaller project as my drawing skills are a little limited I am collaborating with my daughter on the next project as her drawing skills are excellent. At Christmas time the family was all together when we came up with this idea along with a few others which I will tell you about another time. Lucy and I had a number of photographs taken of us together in various poses after some deliberation we selected one image to work from. Lucy then took the image and created a drawing to work from the idea is meant to represent mother and daughter and the strength of each of the individuals is indicated by the emphasis on the spine and the closeness by the hair being interwoven. It is still a work in progress but here are a few pictures.

me and lu  Mom and I

DSCF8206

The first image is the original photograph, the second is the first draft of the drawing and the third picture is the start of the embroidery, bodies outlined and starting to free motion embroider my hair, the plan is to hand stitch Lucy’s hair to give the feeling of volume and texture.

Leave a comment