Quilt Project

I recently bought a new sewing machine it was quite an investment it has a lot more features than my previous machine, I felt I needed to learn and investigate its potential I didn’t want to just produce endless samples I felt I wanted to have a finished item. I decided I would produce a patchwork quilt I love patchwork and find the process of deciding on a pattern selecting fabrics and colours a soothing process. I decided on a colour project and just a basic patchwork pattern, I cut my triangles and joined them together in strips then joined strips together to form a diagonal shape, the colours running through from a pale cream to yellow then orange, red, purple, blue and finally green. I then layered the batting finished patchwork and the reverse fabric. I used a silver metallic thread in the bobbin and on the top to free embroider the organic shapes.

purple 1  planing 2

red stripe 3  assembling 4

reverse side 5  backing 6

finished 7

Leave a Reply

